#101 – Ride the Styrkeprøven

This item replaces the previous #101 – Run the Tarawera ultramarathon. Having completely given up on running, there’s no way I’ll complete that one.

Last year, we spent an absolutely glorious three weeks touring around the southern part of Norway, and ever since, we daydream about going back there, and even the possibilities of moving there some day have been discussed. Not that that’s going to happen while our kids are still young, but maybe, one day…

When Googling things to do in Norway, I stumbled upon the Styrkeprøven, an annual cycling event starting in Trondheim, and finishing in Oslo, covering an astonishing 542 kilometers, with over 4000m D+.

Now that I’m slowly increasing the distances of my cycling workouts (where 50k used to be a long weekend ride, I now consider that a short workout), I’m keeping an eye out for some big goals, and the Styrkeprøven definitely falls into that category (as does the Vätternrundan).

It’ll probably take me a couple more years before I’m comfortable facing a distance like this, but it’s definitely something I’m keeping in mind whenever I pull my bike from the garage!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.