Looking forward to 2016

After having looked back on the year that’s almost behind me in my previous post, it’s time to make plans for next year.. Here’s what I want to achieve from my list in 2016. There are less items on it compared to last year, but that’s to make sure that more will be achieved. To quote one of the few truly helpful personal development books I’ve read: less but better!

#20 – Have and raise children
As we’re expecting our second child mid January, most of my time and energy will probably be dedicated towards caring for and raising him, next to taking care of his older brother and my wife, of course! This is another reason there aren’t any other truly big things planned for next year, I just don’t think I will have the time and energy for it!

#81 – Run a 5.59 mile
The only sports-related item on my planning for next year. Even though I’ll be busy with family life and work, like every year I do want to have a fitness goal to work towards. Since running and especially shorter distance running will cost me relatively little time, I think this is a very suitable goal for 2016. If all goes well I can always strive for more after this one’s ticked off..

#91 – Complete a Coursera course
Since my field of work (IT) requires me to constantly keep myself up to date and learning, a personal education item is a good fit for next year. Also, the Coursera format allows me to invest time and effort whenever I want to, so again, this will fit perfectly given my situation the coming year.

#100 – Visit at least two other countries in Europe
Even though I don’t think we’ll be traveling much this year, I do want to tick off at least two European countries from the list. Even if it’s ‘only’ Belgium and Germany, for example. They’re close to where I live, so it shouldn’t be too hard. Now to find a good reason to visit either one (or any other European country, for that matter..).

#73 – Pay off another 20k of the mortgage (if we don’t move)
Last year was very successful with regards to lowering our mortgage, and we would like to keep chipping away at it this coming year. 20k seems a very feasible amount to pay off, if we don’t move house. That’s also a (not yet very concrete) plan for the near future.. If we do move house, we’ll probably end up with a higher mortgage as we would like to move into a bigger house, so in that case we’ll have to start over again from scratch.

We’ll see what the next year brings. Have a great NYE and I hope to post a lot of progress in 2016!

2015-2016

One thought on “Looking forward to 2016

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the world! | This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

