A long overdue update

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve posted something on this blog.. Mainly because there hasn’t been too much progress to post on. And now that my list is complete – at least for the foreseeable future – I can’t give an update simply by adding something to the list. It’ll all come down to hard work towards completing the list from now on.. And as work and life have gotten in the way a bit over the past couple of months, there simply hasn’t been too much time to work on list items. But alas, there is progress to be reported!

#20 – Have and raise children
First of all, the most important one by far! We’re expecting our second child in January! So that’ll mean another new life to take care of, care for and raise as a responsible and fun adult. Although I can’t say I’m looking forward to the restless nights, I am stoked to become a father again!

#57 – Be recognized as an expert in my field
I think I can offically tick this one off in the coming week, as I’ve been asked to become a lecturer for a Dutch university. And not just to deliver a guest lecture, but to deliver a full-blown course, including lectures and a practical assignment. I’ll be doing this together with a good friend who recommended me for the course and I’m very excited (and a bit nervous) to get going this coming Tuesday!

#73 – Pay off our mortgage
As our income has increased significantly after I’ve started working as a freelancer, thanks to the booming IT market, we’ve really accelerated paying off our mortgage. Just yesterday we put another 15.000 towards the mortgage, so we’re officially under 200k now. I foresee an increase again in the future as we’re going to look for a new and somewhat larger house in the future, but living mortgage-free will remain an important goal to me. We’ll just have to work a bit harder to get there..

That’s it for now, hopefully there will be more to report in the nearby future. I promise it won’t take another two months before the next post, because at this speed I won’t get to the end of the list before I’m two hundred years old..

Leave a Reply

