No pain, no gain

It’s a cliche, but it’s true: sometimes there’s no gain without at least some sort of pain. Today I finally got round to another time trial in my quest for the 5:59 mile, and boy did it hurt!

I’ve finally been able to put in some consistent training in the last couple of weeks, so I was curious to see how I’d do. After all, my last attempt resulted in a somewhat disappointing 6:33. After a good interval session on Tuesday I wanted to do better than that, and get back to at least under 6:30.

I started out rather fast and things started to hurt pretty quickly. Especially my lungs, as they just weren’t able to keep up, or so it seemed.. I had to slow down considerably after 600-700 meters or so, but in the final 300 meters I was able to pick up the pace again (at least a bit). As usual, things probably weren’t looking too pretty form-wise, but as we get closer to the end of the year, it’s getting dark earlier, so I’m able to practice my ugly running style without too many people seeing it!

The biggest surprise came at the end: all that hard work in todays run had somehow paid off and resulted in 6:16, which is by far the fastest mile I’ve ever timed. Keeping in mind that I’ve only been able to do some serious training for the mile for a couple of weeks after a longer period of on-and-off running, I’m very happy with this result! It’s a great motivator to keep getting out there and keep doing those interval sessions I so despise (yet strangely somehow love). 5:59 is getting closer..

I just have to keep this schedule in mind...

Leave a Reply

