Back on the road

The last five months have been pretty exhausting, due to the arrival of our son and the subsequent lack of sleep. Especially since it has taken him this long to learn to sleep through the night. This has taken a pretty big toll on our own fitness levels and my running has been suffering hard as a result. Until about a week ago I only managed to do relatively short runs on weekends, if any at all. The rest of the time, there were either other things to do or I was just too tired.

I am glad to be able to report that things have changed for the better massively in the last week and a half or so. Our son has finally learned to sleep from 23:00 to around 6:00 in the morning and as a result, we also sleep a lot better. This has had a positive influence on my running as well! What a difference a good night’s sleep makes… Now I see why all those professional athletes sleep that much, it really does wonders for your fitness.

Yesterday I was finally able to run around 15k comfortably, something I haven’t been able to do since before our son’s birth in December. It really feels great to be able to cover somewhat serious distances again. Just in time as well as I have a half marathon planned in less than five weeks. Finally, I’m able to continue my quest to run a half marathon in every province of the Netherlands. I don’t expect to achieve a great time, but just the fact that I can comfortably run 21.1k again is great news to me. I’m very much looking forward to it!

Finally I'm back in training for my half marathon challenge!

Finally I’m back in training for my half marathon challenge!

Leave a Reply

