#77 – See a Vincent van Gogh painting

Even though I am not much of an art lover, I do like a lot of the paintings of Vincent van Gogh, the famous Dutch painter. I even remember writing an essay on his life and work in high school. There are a couple of museums in The Netherlands that show some of his most famous works, but so far I have never been to one of these museums. I’d like to go there one day, if only just to see whether I can appreciate the works of Van Gogh as much as I think I did in the past. It would also (of course) be a nice day out with a bit of culture.

Cafe Terrace At Night by Vincent van Gogh

Cafe Terrace at Night, one of my favourite Van Gogh paintings

3 thoughts on “#77 – See a Vincent van Gogh painting

  1. This is my mom’s favorite painting. Truth be told, the word – bucket list makes me nervous, I prefer using the phrase from the Shawshank Redemption, “…get busy living or get busy dying…” Why those words makes me less nervous I really couldn’t say. πŸ™‚
    It’s terrific that your recording your inspirations down and being true to them. I made the mistake of not traveling more when I was younger – now I have 2 teens and college not far away. So money will need to be saved… My husband and I hope to travel once the kiddies are safely implanted in the schools of their choosing (hopefully it works that way).
    Best of luck to you and your bucket list (there I was brave and said it) πŸ™‚
    AnnMarie

    • Hi AnnMarie,

      thank you for your kind words! I do hear what you say, we just had our first child a couple of months ago and already I can see there’s a lot less time (and money) to pursue all items on my list. I also agree on ‘bucket list’ being a term that can provoke mixed feelings, but I see it as a constant reminder to experience new things as much as possible.

      Thanks again and I hope you can accomplish your goal of traveling, there’s so much to see!

      • Congratulations on becoming a new dad! Bringing a child into the world will fill buckets you didn’t even know existed πŸ™‚
        But, through it all – you’re correct to not lose sight of the other things this spectacular life has to offer…be well and again congratulations. Babies grow so very quickly. I swear it was only yesterday that my 13-year-old son was shorter than me πŸ™‚
        AnnMarie

Leave a Reply

