No alcohol for a year: it’s been long enough

Last weekend, after three and a half months of not drinking anything containing alcohol, I decided it has been long enough. Sure, I vowed to keep the teetotalling up for a year, but while lying in the sun at the beach I decided that fifteen weeks was a decent accomplishment. Then I ordered a glass of white wine, and it was delicious. A perfect addition to what was a perfect afternoon.

And this is how it’s going to be from now on. I am keeping up being careful with what and how much I drink, but I don’t see the point anymore in denying myself the pleasure of a nice glass of white wine (I’m a fan in case you didn’t notice before) or something else.

Not drinking for a couple of months has taught me some great lessons though:

  • I sleep better not drinking
  • I like a nice glass of white wine too much to deny myself the pleasure
  • I have enough willpower to quit drinking altogether temporarily whenever I feel I’m overconsuming a little

Especially the last one is an important one to me. In the end, I’m glad I did it, but truth be told, I’m even more glad it’s over. Cheers!

A perfect combination

A perfect combination

Leave a Reply

