Nine hours of hobbits

This weekend I finally had some time for myself, something that is pretty hard to come by with a fulltime job and a newborn child. My wife and our son were out for the weekend to my inlaws, and as the weather was not good enough to venture outside for long (I did manage a 1,5 hour run though, so not all was lost) I decided to take the opportunity to watch the complete Lord of the Rings film trilogy.

It’s been a long while since I’ve seen the films, and I never watched them back to back, but I must say I’m glad I did it. Watching all three films within 24 hours really adds something extra to the experience as you really get sucked into the story, more so than when you leave longer periods of time between two subsequent films.

Map of Middle Earth

Map of Middle Earth

It will probably take a while before I watch these films again as I feel it would take away a lot of the experience to watch a film (or a trilogy of films in this case) of this grandeur too often in a short period of time. Plus, I don’t think I’ll have this much free time again anytime soon..

As for my favourite film out of the trilogy, it’s really hard to choose between the three. It would probably be The Fellowship of the Ring first, then The Return of the King followed by The Two Towers, but they’re so close it’s hardly worth mentioning. All three films are fantastic and very worthy of the precious (see what I did there…) free time I have these days.

A screenshot from the very beginning of The Fellowshop of the Ring

A screenshot from the very beginning of The Fellowshop of the Ring

One thought on “Nine hours of hobbits

  1. Pingback: Looking back at 2014 | This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

