No alcohol for a year: one month in

Today I am a month (plus a couple of days) in on my challenge of not drinking alcohol for an entire year (except for a couple of occasions, which I mentioned when I add the item to my list here). I’m glad to say that so far, it’s not been very hard to keep up the regime. As our son does not yet have a proper nightly sleeping pattern I’m glad to get a proper night of sleep whenever I can. As alcohol has a very negative effect on my sleep – I fall asleep quickly but don’t sleep very deep when I’ve consumed alcohol and as a result wake up less well-rested than I’d like to – it’s been easy not to drink alcohol so far.

Or at least, almost no alcohol. I had a single glass of red wine (which tasted horrible) at Christmas and a single glass of prosecco (which was good) to toast on New Years Day. Both of these were acceptable occasions for a drink as I stated when adding this challenge to my list, so no harm done there!

I can’t say anything about the effects on my health and fitness so far as my sleeping pattern and daily routines have changed so much since our son arrived that I couldn’t tell whether the alcohol would have had anything to do with it had I drunk some. But so far, I’ve managed to return to my running schedule already and feel pretty good considering the broken and sleepless nights we had over the past couple of weeks. This is a great motivator for me to keep away from the booze for some more time (eleven months, to be exact).

Hopefully I will be able to keep this up just as easily in the next couple of months. I especially fear the summer and the call of crisp Italian white wines, to be honest.. But that’s something to worry about later.

One month down, eleven to go!

One month down, eleven to go!

Leave a Reply

