Looking forward to 2014

After having reviewed 2013 in my previous post, it’s time to look forward to 2014 now.. Just as I did last year, I’ve selected a couple of bucket list items I want to pay special attention to in the year to come. Of course, this doesn’t mean I’ll pass up the opportunity to check off some other items that are on the list, but at the very least I would want to complete or make significant progress on the following items.

Achieve A2 level certification in Italian (item #3)
After having passed the A1 level exam this year, I have skipped a year of classes, putting me into a group of fourth year students. This means that at the end of the course year I should be at PLIDA A2 level, for which I will hopefully take and pass the exam in May (if not, then in November). Classes have gotten significantly harder this year, so this will require more work on my side compared to the A1 level exam, which was a breeze.

Volunteer abroad for a month (#35)
As I have been with my current employer for over four years now, I’m eligible for a month of volunteering somewhere on this planet. I’m planning to do this in June, and it will probably be one of the highlights of the year. I’ve already been looking at prospective projects I would like to dedicate my time and efforts to, which is a great activity in itself. I’ve found a couple of possible candidates already, and as soon as I’ve selected my destination I will definitely bring you up to speed! It will be tough to leave our newborn for such a long time though..

Visit another continent (#43)
This will be achieved by completing the previous item. I’m looking at projects in North or South America, Africa and Oceania, which are more or less coincidentally the continents that I haven’t yet visited since starting this list.

Compile my ultimate mix CD (#64)
I’d like to get back into listening my favourite dance tracks from back in my partying days and selecting the best of the best for an ultimate mix CD next year. I’ve already lined up 4 or 5 tracks, but I need at least double that amount to compile a decent mix, which should end up to be around CD length (between 70 and 80 minutes). The mix will be available for download afterwards.

Help our first child through his first year (#20)
An obvious one. I’m very curious to see what our son is like a year from now.. Judging from my nephew, who is almost exactly a year older than our son, it’ll be a staggering change.

Run at least four more half marathons (#33)
I’d also like to book some serious progress on my half marathon challenge. Running has been few and far between for the last couple of weeks, but I’d like to get back on the road as soon as possible and enter a race or two in the months to come.

Build a side business (#9)
This one has been playing through my mind a lot in the past few years, and I feel the time has come to actually get started. Reading The Power Of Starting Something Stupid, which I’m doing at the moment, should help in providing me with the necessary kick in the butt.

No alcohol for a year (#68)
When adding this item to my list I vowed not to drink alcohol between the day after Christmas 2013 and Christmas Eve 2014. In reality, I’ve made a jump start on this item and I am already about a month in. November 29 I had my last drink for a while, and so far, I don’t miss it at all. It will be harder to continue this one throughout the summer, though. I love a glass of good white wine on a hot day.. I guess I just have to be tough for a while.

Add five items to my bucket list
Finally, just like this year, I would like to have added at least five more items to my bucket list by the end of 2014, just to keep things alive and interesting.

I can’t wait to see what the new year is going to bring me!

2014 promises to be another great year!

2014 promises to be another great year!

One thought on “Looking forward to 2014

  1. Pingback: Looking back at 2014 | This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

