#71 – Run a marathon

I’ve been debating this list item for years now.. A couple of years ago (in 2009, to be exact) I started preparing for what was to be my first marathon. The occasion was the 750th anniversary of the city I currently live in, which was the reason for a unique marathon passing along and through all kinds of its highlights. However, a couple of weeks before the marathon, while running a 30k test race, I decided to opt out. It was hot, it was messy and I couldn’t bear the thought of having to run another 12.2k on marathon day.

After that, I stopped running altogether for a couple of months and when I returned to the road, I focused on shorter distances. However, I’m a distance runner if a runner at all, and the marathon itself has remained to a barrier I would love to break one day. I now know what I have to do in order to be able to run one and enjoy it (at least moderately): train more and train better. I’ve already been increasing the distance of my long runs in the past couple of months, and I am really enjoying the fact that my fitness levels are ever going up, but there’s still a lot of work to do before I can even think of running a marathon.

As for a target race, I’ve never been one for the large city marathons, so it’ll probably be a smaller race, although not too small as I’m sure I can use the motivation from a decent crowd in the final stages.. I might also look into races abroad and make a trip out of it, if other people tag along. The options are many.

But first, there’s a lot of training to be done!

Spirit of the marathon

The text says it all!

Leave a Reply

