A live performance of Mozart’s Requiem

This Friday I completed another item on my list when I went to a live performance of one of my favourite pieces of classical music. My mother-in-law told me about an upcoming performance of Mozart’s Requiem a couple of weeks ago and asked me to go with her as she didn’t really know anyone else who would like it. I’ve listened to this wonderful piece of music dozens of times already and the prospect of hearing it performed live didn’t leave me thinking for long.

So I drove the 45 minutes to the town where the performance was to be held. The venue was a church, very appropriate for the Requiem which is essentially a mass for repose of the soul or souls of one or more deceased persons, set to music. The Requiem was performed by an orchestra of about 25 to 30 people, four solo vocalists and an astonishing choir of 95 people. The ensemble had been selected especially for this series of performances, as the conductor told the public. As an addition to the music itself, the conductor told us something about the piece, its origins and its background. I thought this was very interesting.

The performance itself was amazing as well. So many talented people working together in performing such an exceptional piece of music pretty much guarantees a success, and it didn’t disappoint at all. Although I’ve been listening to classical music for quite some time, before last Friday I never took the chance to hear it live, but now I’ve finally done that, I am positive that I will go more often. And isn’t experiencing new things and finding out what you enjoy what having a bucket list is all about?

The first video below shows an impression of a previous performance by the same conductor. The Ave Verum performed there isn’t a part of the Requiem, but the musical style is pretty similar. The choir and orchestra at the show I’ve seen was quite a bit bigger though! The second video is a performance of one my favourite parts of Mozart’s Requiem, the Hostias.

One thought on “A live performance of Mozart’s Requiem

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2013 | This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

