Restart, twofold

This week has marked the restart of two activities related to items on my list. After a somewhat lazy summer, with little activity (but a great holiday), it’s time to kick it up a notch again!

First of all, I’ve registered for the next year of Italian language classes. As I felt like things went a little slow the previous years – it took me two years before obtaining PLIDA A1 level proficiency – I requested to be placed in the fourth year group instead of the third year. This means I have a lot of catching up to do, but that also makes it far more challenging, meaning I should be even more motivated to get better and better at speaking, writing, reading and listening to the Italian language. It also means I will be able to try and obtain the A2 level certificate in May of next year.

Second, after a lot of cycling in the summer and virtually no running, I have put on the trainers again and restarted something resembling a running regime. The first few times were pretty tough, but this week I feel things are really starting to come together again. I’ve been doing back-to-back 10k+ workouts, even combining it with a little interval training for the necessary speed, and it feels great! This will probably mean that I won’t make my goal of cycling to my parents’ house this year (plus, the weather is really starting to get worse and cycling in the rain isn’t really comfortable), but that’s OK by me. I am looking at running a couple more half marathons by the end of the year or the beginning of next year, partly depending on how things develop with our firstborn, who should have arrived nicely by then as well.

Apart from the above, things are looking good work-wise as well, and my first side gig is developing nicely as well, so things are looking good generally. More on that in a later post.

Runners in Italy, seems appropriate given the nature of my post!

Runners in Italy, seems appropriate given the nature of my post!

Leave a Reply

