A change of plans

In one of my posts around New Years Day I stated my bucket list plans for 2013. One of the major items on it, and one I have been looking forward to for quite a while, is starting planning on the month of volunteering work abroad that is offered by my employer. I will have been at my current employer for four years in November, so theoretically I would be allowed to spend four weeks anywhere in the world to volunteer for a good cause. How’s that for a job benefit?

However, it looks like the plans have changed a bit.. But for one of the best reasons possible, as we are expecting our first child this December! Even though I don’t fully realize I will be a father by the end of the year, I am very much looking forward to it. Of course, this means that I won’t be going to spend four weeks somewhere far away when I should be at home either supporting my wife through the last stages of her pregnancy, or spending precious time with our newborn. I wouldn’t want to miss that for the world, and besides, it means I’ll just have to postpone one life changing experience for another. Not a trade I had to think about for long!

Plus it means progress on another item on my list (#20, have and raise children). I’m a happy man!

A change of plans!

Leave a Reply

