Perfect pace

Even though cycling season has finally started for me, I am keeping on running as well, both because it’s fun to mix up activities every now and then and because I want to run at least one or two more half marathons comfortably before the end of year. And that’s the key word: comfortable. My last few half marathons have not really been all that comfortable. They were hard work, even requiring short stretches of walking, and that’s not my definition of comfortable. Therefore I decided a couple of weeks ago to postpone the next half for a couple of months and just go out running for fun. That combined with the start of the cycling season should result in me much more enjoying being active and getting up from the couch.

As it has been raining a lot these days and I didn’t like the prospect of having to clean my bike after a cycling session, I went out for a short run this afternoon. Not having run a lot in the past weeks, I didn’t really know what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised! Somehow I fell into what seemed like perfect pace right from the start, being able to run virtually effortlessly for the whole of the (albeit rather short) route. My legs didn’t feel as tired as the last couple of runs, the head was clear, and I remembered why I love running so much: it’s not just the physical workout, it’s as much a workout for the mind for me as well. When running doesn’t feel like hard work, I can focus on not focusing at all (if that makes any sense) and letting the mind relax as the body does its workout.

It was one of those runs where I felt better after the run than before, and I take it that’s a good sign! I’m not really a guy for Zen or yoga (or at least I think I’m not), but I will gladly call this my kind of meditation, some sort of meditative running where you don’t have to worry about how the body feels, and only focus on the mind. I will definitely try and go for another run this week to see whether I can somehow summon that same feeling again, and see whether I can maintain that state of mind over longer distances as well. I’d love to be able to run half marathons feeling like this..

In the meantime, I’ll try and look up some articles about meditative running to see whether there are any good tips that I can apply in my running training. In any case, I’m really looking forward to my next stage of running.

Perfect pace!

Leave a Reply

