Looking back and looking forward

I just realised it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, and that I haven’t been as active pursuing my list items as I probably should. However, these past weeks have been kind of busy, and as you all might know, life does sometimes get in the way. Nothing but good things though: lots of work to do (I prefer that to being sacked as you can imagine), a new addition to the family (hello nephew!) and a great weekend of football, friends and bad food (and not being able to walk properly for a day or two afterwards).

Even though there’s almost a month still to go, I’d like to look back to 2012 and look forward to 2013 a bit. At the start of this year I made a promise to myself I would spend more time outdoors as that’s where I’m most happy. Unfortunately, I must say I haven’t been able to do this as much as I would like. With regards to running, I haven’t done as much as I would have liked, but I know the cause of that and I am definitely going to improve in 2013 (or better, I’ve already started doing that). As for the other items on my list, I’ve managed to tick off a few easy ones, but nothing truly special. Still, I’ve enjoyed completing them, and of course that’s the most important. Seeing Garbage live was probably my favourite, together with the snorkeling experience while on honeymoon. I’ve spent many an enjoyable hour reading the Lynley series as well.

For 2013, I’ve already set my eyes on some of the other items on my list:

  • Passing my A1-level Italian exam, That doesn’t imply fluency yet, not by a long shot, but it’s a first real test and the PLIDA A1-level is internationally acknowledged.
  • Do a month of volunteering abroad. This one depends on planning and destination a bit, as I can’t go until the end of 2013 and I think I want to go somewhere with a decent chance of sunshine!
  • Visit another continent (or maybe even two). Depends on the previous item, and on our summer holiday plans, but we’re looking at making a nice big trip again this coming year.
  • Do at least six half marathons. This to get the ‘half marathon in every province’ item started nicely. Training is going very well so far, and I might even start working on this in January already, depending on the availability of nice races.

Apart from those, I’m sure I’ll be able to work on some of the smaller items on my list as well (reading and film watching related ones, for example). 2013 is going to be great, and I am working on it already. And of course new items will be added to the list whenever they pop up!

One thought on “Looking back and looking forward

  1. Pingback: My plans for 2013 « This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

