Donating blood

Most of the items on my list are pretty selfish, I’m the first to admit that. Then again, it’s my life, and it’s my job to get the most out of it.. But there are some things I would like to do to help others, and donating blood is one of them. Yesterday, I was finally given the clear for my very first donation.

Even though I had the medical checkup done over half a year ago, I wasn’t allowed to make a donation before yesterday since the regulations are very strict. One of the rules is that you cannot donate blood within half a year of returning from tropical countries, such as Malaysia, where we were in May.

I went to the donation center without any clue as to how the process looks like, but it basically comes down to a quick medical checkup (blood pressure, etc.), after which you lay down on a pretty comfortable chair and get a needle in your arm. Really pretty simple. Since it was the first time, the donation center medics were a bit cautious, as they never know how people react after their donation. Luckily for me, everything went pretty smoothly and after around 10 minutes I made my first 0.5l blood donation. I sat around a bit afterwards for some coffee and cookies (decent tradeoff if you ask me) and went home, knowing that another item on the list had been checked off and much more importantly, I had made my first contribution to a selfless cause. I’m sure there will be many more donations from me in the future.

Blood donation in progress

Leave a Reply

