Happiness isn’t a number

I believe that the key to having and enjoying a bucket list is to maintain it regularly and make sure that all goals on it still resonate with you, and that you are actually willing to achieve them. Otherwise, your list might just grow into a pointless sequence of random facts, and where’s the joy in trying to achieve things that do not give you a sense of achievement or pleasure?

Over the past few weeks, I felt that my list was in need of some maintenance. There are a few items on it that just do not mean anything to me anymore. To be more specific, I am talking about achieving certain goal times on the half marathon and 5k, and about achieving a certain weight loss.

Lately, I’ve not been really motivated to get out running again, and it almost seemed I had lost all pleasure in running. This didn’t exactly affect my general mood in any positive way, either. And deep down, I already knew why: I was too busy trying to achieve goals that don’t really matter to me, and even take away the fun of just running because I can and want to.

So that’s going to change from now on. Those goals are off the list. This goes for the weight goal as well, because I now know that achieving a certain weight will not result in a feeling of achievement. I’d rather be happy and feel good regardless of what the scale says.

This does not mean that I am going to stop running and start eating crappy food from now on. On the contrary. There are still quite a few running-related goals on the list that I DO want to achieve (and who knows, there might be more in the future) and I am positive that by starting to run for fun again, I will become a healthier and happier person soon enough, and motivated to achieve the goals that matter to far me more than chasing pointless numbers.

Funny enough, Leo Babauta at zenhabits.net posted a great article on something related to this yesterday. Coincidence? Who knows, but it’s a good read for everyone that feels their life is dictated by pointless numbers.

Another unrelated picture here, the first hit on Google Images when searching for ‘running for fun’. And you can’t go wrong with a bit of The Simpsons.

Picture is unrelated

Leave a Reply

