Mission 1959: on hold (and some more updates)

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to run for the past couple of weeks, first due to a bit of man flu, but mostly because of a slight back injury sending bolts of pain through my spine everytime I try and do something at faster than walking speed. This means I haven’t been able to keep up with the sub 20 minute 5k schedule I was quite diligently following in the past few months. Total bummer. And, from experience, I know I will have to put lots of extra effort in just to get back to the level I was at when I can get back to running. And to be honest, I just don’t feel like doing so at the moment, meaning I am going to put Mission 1959 on a hold for a while and return to distance and trail running. I hope to be able to get back on the road as soon as possible and just start to run for fun and joy while building up the distance and weekly mileage again. I will keep doing speed work, but not to the extent I was doing until two or three weeks ago. I’ve lost the necessary motivation for that and would rather just enjoy it for the moment.

I am already looking at a couple of half marathons early next year to start the goal of running 21.1k in each of the 12 provinces of my country, and to be honest I feel both relieved and excited not having to focus on that 19.59 goal for a while. I’m sure I’ll get there one day, especially when I want to go for the sub 1.30 half marathon I have on my list as well, but for now I really do not want to think about it and just run for the great feeling it gives me. Which also means it’s time to hit the trails again, something I really feel I need to do. I see it as a shift in focus instead of failure.

In other news: I’m almost through all of the Lynley novels, saw my first film written by Richard Russo last week (Nobody’s Fool, which was decent) and won my first tournament on RedHotPawn.com, so there’s some good news too! Bring on the half marathon madness.

Another completely unrelated picture!

Leave a Reply

