Mission 1959: the schedule

After a nice and well-deserved two-week holiday in France, I’ve gone back to running the past week, continuing the chase for the 19:59 5k. Even though December 31st seems a long way away, I realized that time goes fast and I can’t really waste much time if I want to complete Mission 1959 before the end of the year. It’s not that I need to run a sub 20 5k before that, but I would really like to be able to focus on distance running and my half marathon and trail running goals in 2013. Therefore, I felt it would be a good idea to start following a workout schedule that will prepare me as best as I can for achieving my goal. I’ve never really followed a schedule before, being more of a we’ll-see-how-it-goes guy, but I think that following instructions that are specifically designed to achieve a target time might be the fastest (if not only) way to success.

The schedule consists of three workouts per week, which is both a minimum for success and my maximum (work and my Italian classes will take up quite a bit of extra time in the coming months), for a total duration of 12 weeks. I use a schedule from http://www.looptijden.nl (a Dutch site), because it gives me the flexibility to adapt training days according to my calendar and because the workouts described seem tough enough yet feasible for me in my current form.

The first workout has already been completed, a nice 45 minute run at the tempo as required by the schedule. Funny, as this tempo (11.5 kmh) was quite a bit faster than I’ve been running my easy runs in the past weeks. Before, I didn’t think I could keep up the tempo given my current lack of stamina, but it all turned out pretty good in the end, running over 45 minutes at 11.7 kmh pace, according to my trusty Forerunner 305.

The first part of my 19:59 5km schedule

Together with the much needed weight loss I am to achieve (these holidays are killing me!) I therefore think this schedule might lead to some good results, if only I keep putting the effort in, which of course it is all about! I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

Leave a Reply

