Mission 1959: kick-off

In my previous post, I talked about focusing on just one or two of the sports-related items on my list, rather than halfheartedly trying to pursue them all. I chose the sub 20 minute 5k goal because it should take the least amount of time on a weekly basis, because the workouts for a 5k can all be done in under an hour, and I don’t really seem to have the motivation and dedication that long-distance running takes at the moment.

So yesterday was the start of what I would like to call Mission 1959, or the road towards a 19.59 (or better) 5k time. Sounds cool, huh? Well, that was pretty much the only cool part about the first workout that was really dedicated towards this goal. I decided to try a 5k tempo run, just to assess where I stand at the moment. It was a pretty warm day, which never fails to hamper my running. Yesterday was no exception. I know just about how fast I have to run to get to 19.59, because I’ve been pretty close in the past. But that’s what it is, the past. No way am I able, at the moment, to maintain that speed for longer that 1k. I seemed to have forgotten that yesterday, though. Needless to say I was knackered after just 2k, having to stop for a little while to stretch and to get my heart rate below happy hardcore speed.

I managed to complete the 5k in a decent fashion, taking it much slower after the break, finishing in 23.42. Not as bad as I feared, not as good as I hoped. Still, it gives me a benchmark of my current abilities and a starting point to work from. It’s going to take a lot of hard work, dedication, and possibly pain to get there, but I need to focus. Onwards and upwards!

Picture below is one of the first results on Google Images when I enter 2342. Completely unrelated, so to say.

23.42

One thought on “Mission 1959: kick-off

  1. Pingback: #52 – Complete a trail run over 30k long « This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

