Focus.

Glancing at my bucket list reveals there are quite a few sports-related items featured on it. All of these goals are equally important to me, and until now, I have been trying to pursue all of them more or less at the same time. Combine this with the fact I’m suffering from a less-than-average drive to work out at the moment, and there’s a recipe for zero achievement right there. I can’t just be a fast runner, distance runner, trail runner, decent cyclist and aspiring triathloner all at the same time. Even more so, it’s leading to a lack of motivation to get out there at all..

So I think I’m better off pursuing just one, maybe two of these at any given moment in time. Given that I’m pretty busy at the moment and don’t have a lot of time to dedicate towards distance running, I’ll focus on getting a sub 20 minute 5k, item #45 on the list, first. That will mean a lot of fast and short training, lots of intervals (that I despise yet love) and determination.

For the necessary easy training and the stress relief benefits of longer workouts, I’ll mix it up with increasingly long cycling workouts. This with the goal of also finishing #6, cycling to my parent’s house around, which is around 100k away from where I live.

The other sports-related items just have to wait until after I’ve finished this one. Hopefully this increase in focus will lead to better results in the item checking off-area..

Run 5k in under 20 minutes

One thought on “Focus.

  1. Pingback: #52 – Complete a trail run over 30k long « This Bucket List

Leave a Reply

