Running again!

After far too long a period of non-running, today I finally picked myself up and went out for a short run. In the past couple of months work and the preparation for our wedding has taken up a lot of time and energy, resulting in a severe lack of miles on my feet. It’s been a bit of a vicious circle, because the less I was running, the less fit I felt and as a consequence, the less I felt like going out for a run.

Hopefully, today is the start of a proper running comeback. It was only an easy four mile run, but after not having run for so long I didn’t think it would be sensible to do much more than that. I’ve been doing a bit of cycling and cross training, so my overall fitness isn’t really bad, but there’s a lot of room for improvement still. Hopefully I can keep it up for a while now. It’s going to be tough, with the wedding and honeymoon coming up and summer on its way (I run far easier in colder weather), but I just have to keep focused on the positive effects it has on my physical and mental well-being.

Time to work on #33 of my list, running a half marathon in every province of my country. I hope to get the first ones under my belt from September on.. I am going to put an additional constraint in there by trying to run only offroad half marathons as much as possible, just because I love trail running the most. Not sure whether all provinces organize an offroad half, but we’ll see where we end up.

Trail running in the Italian Dolomites

Leave a Reply

